Kapatagan (Travel Theme: Relaxing)

Kapatagan – /k’·pə·tä·gən/ – Noun, Lang: Filipino. English translation: Plain; A large area of flat land.

Indulge me, for I have never appreciated the lowlands until I had to climb the mountain–and boy, what a climb. My shoulders screamed from the weight of the backpack, my knees shook from the weight of everything else, and in the words of Dr. Sheldon Cooper, BS, MS, MA, PhD, and ScD, “oh gravity, thou art a heartless b*tch!”

A friend, more used to climbing than I was, told me that it is not the mountain that we conquer but ourselves. That made me happy, I suppose, thinking that our “selves” are pretty damn tall and difficult to conquer and so the poem Invictus came to mind.  One hour in, and we were told we’re only halfway through, as if it is not enough that we had to climb the mountain at night and under the moon (the climb is called Lunatrek, and it is a lot more beautiful than I cared to describe here).

With hands shaking, with my back equal parts sweaty from the climb and cold from the fog, with my lungs gasping for breath despite the the abundance of cool, sweet air, I looked at what little I can see from our supposed campsite and told myself: “I want the view from up there”

This is in response to Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Relaxing, because I this is the best example that I can think of to appreciate “Relaxing” moments. My friend Silver made a more detailed account of the climb in her blog.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Was the climb worth it? Absolutely.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

My friend Sheila taking a break to look at the view.

1229967_10202042539571019_1083837687_n

Take the time to relax. Take the time to have fun.

3 thoughts on “Kapatagan (Travel Theme: Relaxing)

  1. Pingback: Travel theme: Relaxing (2) | Processing the life

Leave a Reply

